Creating a multiplayer iPhone game

February 15, 2009 at 11:00 pm (iPhone development) (, , )

I’ve been recently working on a new iPhone game, something to fill the void that is lacking in multi-player, collectible creature/card/spell/something, that semi-mmo feel you get from mixing Magic:The Gathering with Lootwars, Diablo II, World of Warcraft, an iPhone, and 20 years of gaming. It all starts to come out in a big heaping pile of…something, lots of great ideas and no focus. I’ve always felt my job as an engineer was to “fight entropy,” a phrase my old co-worker Matt came up with over a decade ago, and it sure fits…especially when working on a new project. I’ve got so much personal history in the gaming world, how could the ideas *not* come out all at once?

It’s coming along well, and a public beta will be available shortly I hope. I’ll be posting screenshots and game mechanics along the way.

R.

Leave a Reply

