iPad Universal app with no nibs

May 5, 2010 at 1:04 am (iPhone development, Software Engineering) (, , , )

I don’t believe in using nib files in my iPhone/iPad projects, not even the magic ones that are generated by the default project templates. So, as I’ve been looking into creating universal apps, I have noticed than no one seems to have published a sample universal project that doesn’t use nibs.

I thought I would take this opportunity to provide such a project, so that anyone who wants to create a universal iPad/iPhone app with no nibs, has a clean template to start from that is already setup with all boilerplate work in place.

The project is a part of my rcloudlib repo on github, I encourage you to take a look at it, I keep it very lightweight and include items I find that need in almost every project I work on. The most recent version of the app template will always be in the rcloudlib/samples/rcuniversaltemplate directory, and will be expanded in the future. If you want a direct download of the .zip of the super-clean version that will never change, use this link instead.

The project complies and runs, in both iPhone and iPad mode. You can run both iPad/iPhone in the simulator, using the steps described here.

If you have any comments, recommendations, fixes, or anything else…I’d love to hear them.

Thanks
R.

1 Comment

  1. Maxwell Barvian said,

    Thank you very much! This was exactly what I was looking for!

Leave a Reply

